One Spell Slot per Turn
[replaces the rule with bonus action spell and cantrip]
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can't, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Cast a Spell action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn, but you could cast a spell with a spell slot and cast a cantrip.
Casting without Slots
There are several ways to cast a spell without expending a spell slot. Casting a spell in this way doesn't break the above rule.
- Cantrips.
- Rituals.
- Special Abilities.
- Magic Items.